Countdown to Green Man

image
Framed Telegramme Paper Co gig posters above my desk

Following on from my last post about the Abergavenny Food Festival, we’re also on a countdown (four sleeps!) to Green Man. On only ten minutes from here means that I can get to experience all that’s best about festivals without all the bits I’m really not cut out for. And first on that list would be the camping. I’m not a great sleeper at the best of times (hello, 3am!) and under canvas, on an airbed, in a field with hundreds of others would pretty much guarantee a fully sleepless night with ensuing grumpiness the following day. So, we get to come home, sleep in our bed, have a shower, stretch out the aching limbs after sitting in a field for three days, and really it’s a perfect way to do a festival.

After last year’s Green Man I bought these two posters as a memento from the lovely Telegramme Paper Co – the orange one is Sharon Van Ettan and the other is Deer Tick (who weren’t playing there but were on tour in the UK last year). I got these framed and up on the wall recently over the desk in the upstairs hallway. They’re lovely pieces of art in their own right – beautifully designed, printed and on thick, heavyweight paper. A world away from the bluetacked posters I used to have on my teenage bedroom wall.

So, five days to go until Green Man and the weather has a bit of work to do to dry the fields out and get some sun shining. They’ve already published their day by day running order but I’m trying to put off organising our ‘schedule of bands and stuff we want to see’ as I like to do that over our first beer when we arrive. The we can argue over whether it’s The Fall or Television on Saturday night before Super Furries (Television for me), and Courtney Barnett or Father John Misty on Sunday night (Courtney for me, but I’ll probably find myself on my own for that).

Now all we need is some sunshine!

Leave a Reply

